The Prequels of the Maze Runner

My Reading: Past, Present and Future 09.19.18

Past: The Kill Zone (audio) by James Dashner

Past: The Fever Code (audio) by James Dashner

I read the Maze Runner series (The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure) a couple of years ago, and finally I got around to listening to the two prequels as digital books. The prequels helped me appreciate the main series that much more.

Both The Kill Order and The Fever Code are independent stories taking place years apart. The Kill Order shows events taking place soon after the sun flares. The story introduces us to some new and interesting heroes as well as re-introduces us to some familiar faces-although the reader wouldn’t know that until The Fever Code.

In The Fever Code, Dashner brings back many of the characters readers met in the original Maze Runner trilogy. He answers some questions about Wicked and includes a surprise ending–or maybe not so surprising to some readers who may have already guessed what was really going on.

For some reason, the prequels make me like the original Maze Runner trilogy more, although I’m not sure why. Maybe it was just seeing the characters meet for the first time. Maybe it’s some of the interesting twists on the original story.

If you  haven’t read Dashner’s Maze Runner series, you have a choice to read the books as they were published * or in chronological order**. It’s up to you.

The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, The Kill Order and The Fever Code.

**The Kill Order, The Fever Code, The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s